Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News : National

CCAI Announces 2017-18 Award Winners; Installs 2018-19 Board and Officers

Tuesday, July 31, 2018  

During the 2018 CCAI Annual Meeting in Sarasota, Florida, the Chemical Coaters Association International held their annual awards ceremony to recognize the CCAI Chapter Users and Suppliers of the Year and announce the 2018 James F. & David J. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award recipient. CCAI also installed its 2018-19 National Board of Directors & Officers.

CCAI’s highest honor, the prestigious James F. & David J. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award, was presented to Rex Winemiller.  Rex was a member of CCAI for 26 years, where he served on the National Board of Directors from 1989-1994, held all officer positions, and was National president in 1991-92.  During his year as president, he visited all of CCAI’s regional chapters as an ambassador for the association’s mission.  In the early 1990’s he was the CCAI Finance Chairman and was instrumental in launching the CCAI Scholarship Program.  He led the initiative to convert CCAI finances over to the electronic era.  Rex was an active member until his retirement in 2015.  Upon receiving this award Rex commented, “Unfortunately, I never met Jim Wright, but I worked with Dave Wright on the CCAI National Board and various other industry events.  The Wrights were truly leaders in the coating industry and were dedicated to the CCAI mission.  It humbles me to be honored with this award in their name along with the great list of previous outstanding award recipients.  I would like to thank everyone involved who made this event so memorable.”

 CCAI also honored its Chapter User and Supplier of the Year recipients at the awards ceremony.  Each year, chapters recognize a User and Supplier member for their service and dedication to their respective chapter.  Chapters are the cornerstone of the association and CCAI is grateful for the tremendous efforts of those who continue to support its mission to build a better finishing industry.

The 2017-18 Chapter Award winners are: 
Central States ChapterShawn Bristol, HMC Performance Coatings & Marty Sawyer, Trimac Industrial Systems LLC

Georgia Chapter - Samantha Paulson, Dinamec Systems LLC

Las Vegas ChapterTony Sclafani, AR Iron, LLC & Luis Hernandez, Coral Chemical Co.

Southern California Chapter - Shivie Dhillon, Sundial Powder Coating & Ron Lum, Coral Chemical Co.

Twin Cities ChapterMichelle Striggow, Graco Inc. & Robyn Aiken

West Michigan Chapter - Bob Warren, Retired, WM Secretary/Treasurer & ChemQuest Inc.

Wisconsin ChapterThe Metalcraft Management Team & The Andreae Family, Therma-Tron-X.


CCAI is very pleased to have the leadership of the following individuals who will serve on the National Board of Directors for 2018-19:

President:  Bill Oney, Therma-Tron-X, Inc. – Wisconsin Chapter

Vice President: Duane Fudge, Chemetall - Unaffiliated

Treasurer:  Tony Sclafani, AR Iron, LLC – Las Vegas Chapter

Recent Past President: Ron Lum, Coral Chemical Co. – Southern California Chapter

In addition to the officers, serving on the National Board of Directors for 2018-19
 will be:

Kevin Coursin, George Koch Sons, LLC – Northern Illinois Chapter
Shivie Dhillon, SunDial Powder Coatings – Southern California Chapter
Jim Gallagher, Harley-Davidson Motor Co. - Wisconsin Chapter
Loren Keene, Pneu-Mech Systems Mfg. LLC – Central States Chapter
Dan Labrecque, Tiger Drylac USA, Inc. – West Michigan Chapter
Todd Luciano, Products FinishingGreater Cincinnati Chapter
Jim Malloy, Kolene Corp. – Southeast Michigan
Tim Milner, J.I.T. Powder Coating Company – Twin Cities Chapter
Mark Walsworth, Nordic Ware Inc. – Twin Cities Chapter
Bob Warren, – West Michigan Chapter
Jeff Watson, Custom Chemicals of Texas, Texas Chapter
Sam Woehler, George Koch Sons, LLC – Unaffiliated

Serving as Ex-officio Board member is Larry Melgary, Northern Coatings & Chemical – Wisconsin Chapter.