Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News : National

Chemical Coaters Association International Awards 2019 Student Scholarships

Friday, July 26, 2019  

The Chemical Coaters Association International is proud to announce this year’s scholarship recipients.  For the past several years, CCAI has awarded scholarship money from the CCAI Matt Heuertz Scholarship Fund to students in programs (technical schools, high schools and colleges) geared toward coatings and finishing.  CCAI received many qualified applicants and is excited to watch the growth of this program as it continues to attract bright new talent to the industrial finishing and coatings industry.  In addition, CCAI chapters have awarded their own scholarships for students in their regions.

 CCAI National awarded $19,500 in scholarships to twelve deserving students this year. In addition to cash awards, each recipient receives a one-year student membership in CCAI which allows them to gain significant exposure to the industry and benefit from the multitude of resources available through the association. “CCAI is truly dedicated to supporting the next generation of industrial finishing staff through our growing scholarship programs,” states CCAI’s Executive Director, Anne Goyer.  “Both our National office and our chapters continue to distribute scholarships to deserving students that are working towards careers in our industry.  The amount of both scholarship dollars and number of students we are assisting grows each year.  We plan to continue to expand our scholarship program and follow our students as they embark on their careers.”

 CCAI extends sincere congratulations to all the recipients of a National Matt Heuertz Scholarship:

Genna Andreae, University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Jacob Bishop, The University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa

Alec Jobbins, University of California-Berkeley

Kolt Knutson, University of Wisconsin-Stout

Evan Laffin, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Elaine Lee, University of Minnesota

Austen Pawlaczyk, University of Toledo

Sydney Preston, University of Cincinnati

Stephen Quaglieri, University of Wisconsin-Stout

Casey Roeser, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Ashley Sullivan, University of Cincinnati

Austin Wheaton, University of Wisconsin-Stout


Sydney Preston was honored with the largest scholarship, $5000.  “Selecting our top scholarship winner is always difficult,” notes Goyer, “but Sydney is an impressive student currently serving as an Applications Engineer in a co-op program at DuBois Chemicals, a CCAI Corporate member company.  She is also a teaching assist at the University of Cincinnati and a member of the Society of Women Engineers.”


Further congratulations are offered to the winners of CCAI Chapter Scholarships.  In addition to the National awards, several CCAI chapters bestow student scholarships.  This year, between National CCAI & Chapter scholarships, more than $44,000 was distributed to 33 students. 


CCAI accepts scholarship applications each year beginning in January.